BILL SUMMARY

1st Session of the 58th Legislature

Bill No.: SB 745 Version: Engrossed

Request Number:

Author: Rep. Dobrinski/ Sen. Weaver
Date: 4/1/2021
Impact: No Actuarial Impact

Research Analysis

SB 745 limits the annual retirement pay of certain members of the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement System to the annual salary limit of the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 multiplied by 2.5 percent multiplied by the number of years of credited service.

The measure also provides for members who retire due to a service-connected disability to receive a monthly benefit equal to 2.5 percent, multiplied by either 20 years of credited service, regardless of whether the member served 20 years, or the actual number of years of credited service if more than 20, and multiplied by the greater of the final average salary of the member and the top base salary currently paid to the highest nonsupervisory position for the following positions:

- Oklahoma Highway Patrolman;
- Communications Dispatcher;
- Capitol Patrolman;
- Lake Patrolman; and
- Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation Special Agent or Criminalist, or the actual average salary currently paid to the highest nonsupervisory position for the following positions:
 - Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission ABLE Commission Agent III:
 - Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control Narcotics Agent III;
 - Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Department Park Ranger II;
 - State Board of Pharmacy Pharmacy Inspector;
 - University of Oklahoma Police Officer; and
 - Oklahoma State University Police Officer.

No member receiving benefits who retired prior to July 1, 2002, shall receive a benefit less than they were receiving as of June 30, 2002.

Prepared By: Emily McPherson

Fiscal Analysis

Officials for the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement System (OLERS) anticipate no actuarial impact on the System as a result of the provisions of SB 745 in its current form.

Prepared By: John McPhetridge

Other Considerations
None.
© 2021 Oklahoma House of Representatives, see Copyright Notice at www.okhouse.gov